The 2020 General Election in Webster County resulted in the highest voter turnout since at least 1999, the oldest date available on the state election website.

Of the 9,794 registered voters in the county, 6,025 cast a ballot in last week’s election for a turnout of 61.5%. Of those, 4,076 voted through the early voting or mail-in absentee voting process.

Republican Donald J. Trump carried the presidential election in Webster County with 4,506 votes, followed by Democrat Joseph R. Biden who received 1,412. Libertarian Jo Jorgensen got 54 votes, with Kanye West getting 16 votes and Brock Pierce getting three.

Mitch McConnell, Republican, won the U.S. Senate race with 4,029 votes. Democrat Amy McGrath placed second with 1,600 votes while Libertarian Brad Barron got 347 votes.

James Comer, incumbent Republican congressman, won his race against Democrat James Rhodes 4,445 to 1,420.

Incumbent Republican James Gooch Jr. defeated Arthur “Art” McLaughlin easily in a four county race for the 12th District State Representative seat. Gooch garnered a total of 16,868 to McLaughlin’s 5,157. Gooch won the Webster County race 4,514 to 1,420.

Chris McNeill carried Webster County in the race for Court of Appeals, defeating Jenny Hines 2,286 to 1,820. McNeill also won the overall vote 93,966 to 79,120.

Contact Matt Hughes at or 270-667-2069

Contact Matt Hughes at or 270-667-2069